Chronixx: A Live Acoustic Session. July 19, 2014

July 20, 2014 § Leave a comment

chronixxlive

Last night I was invited to leave the relative comfort of my house for an event at Levels in Jack’s Hill to watch Chronixx and the Zinc Fence Redemption Band perform. Even though I wouldn’t consider myself a fan-fan, I couldn’t pass it up. I’d enjoyed everything I’d heard of his before, and I love everything one hundred times more when performed acoustically. And really, what was the alternative? Sweating on my couch while watching Kitchen Nightmares on Netflix? I’ll take it.

Chronixx and the Zinc Fence Redemption

Chronixx and the Zinc Fence Redemption

The turnout was massive; there were easily over a hundred people there, which was rather overwhelming to the venue, but it worked. The crowd was mellow, yet you could feel an undercurrent of excitement pulsing through it. Great vibe. When Chronixx made it to the stage, he joked that some of us were going to have to leave, but he was appreciative of the support all the same. He admitted later that he had waited until two days before the event to announce it, in efforts to avoid the excitement (in case your personal rock doesn’t get WiFi, Chronixx and The Zinc Fence Redemption Band will be performing live on the Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon this coming Tuesday night).

Sorry, Chronixx.

Chronixx and Protoje

Chronixx and Protoje

In between numbers, Chronixx talked to the crowd, sharing his jokes, his thoughts, experiences and reasonings about a variety of topics including Jamaica, the government, and just life. It felt intimate, like a personal conversation he was having with each one of us, and painted him as a very cool guy who doesn’t take himself too seriously. He joked that if we wanted to see a full set, we should’ve come out to see him at Sumfest the night before, but we were treated to surprise performances by Keznamdi and Protoje, among many others. Worth more than my measly J$500 by far. Coupled with the cool night air and a beautiful view of Kingston town from on high, it was all in all, an organic, wholly enjoyable experience. I’m converted.

I probably won’t watch him perform on the Tonight Show (I will try, but it’s just way too far past my bedtime), but if you do tune in, I have it on good authority that he’ll be performing Here Comes Trouble and Smile Jamaica. For better pictures than what my terrible smartphone camera could produce, please stalk my dear friend Matthew Henry on Instagram and see his coverage of the event for JAE Magazine.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chronixx: A Live Acoustic Session. July 19, 2014 at young and foolish..

meta

